Book Tour, Part Two

The second stop in my book tour was San Francisco. I read at Book Passage in the Ferry Building–a gorgeous bookstore with an incredible view of the Bay. The building was full of tourists, which lent the place an atmosphere of leisure and lightness. There, I was hosted and introduced by the incredibly kind and friendly Ama Wertz, who made me feel instantly at home. A big thank you to everyone who came, and I was especially happy to see some old friends who still live in the Bay Area, two of them with new babies in tow! Also present at the reading was Meg Waite Clayton, who I met at the Printers Row Lit Fest a month earlier, and was excited to see again. I also got to meet in person for the first time Meghan Ward, whose blog Writerland I really like, and Erick Seitwan, author of OF BEES AND MIST. We used to have the same editor at Simon & Schuster, and it was great to see him there. The next day, I stopped by The Booksmith in the Haight to sign some stock. The Booksmith is right in the middle of all the action in the Haight, and it was really fun to see all the tourists going in and out of all the stores. Afterwards, I walked over to City Lights, home to Lawrence Ferlinghetti’s legendary press. The store was packed, and it was fun to see all the customers browsing and lining up to make purchases. The bookseller I met was really nice, and superhelpful in tracking down copies of the book for me to sign. Call me an egomaniac, but I love seeing the book on tables, or on displays, and it was great seeing the novel displayed on the New Fiction shelves, on the bookcases next to the register. Finally, as a final stop, I stopped by Books, Inc. in Berkeley, where I got to chat with the inestimable Calvin Crosby, manager of the store. Calvin and I chatted a bit about the pre-pub dinner where we met a few months earlier. I didn’t realize how big Books, Inc. was, or how lovely that part of town was, and I had a great time visiting. My friend had his camera, and he took this cute picture of my book, in the New Fiction table.

Now, after doing my reading and visiting all those stores to sign stock, I felt like my visit to San Francisco had been a success. I got to catch up with old friends, make some new ones, and celebrate the release of the book with some incredibly kind and supportive booksellers. To cap it all off, as I walked over to my gate at SFO San Francisco International Airport, I stopped by the airport bookstore and was surprised and delighted to see there, displayed on the side of a shelf, my book! That sighting was the perfect way to end a perfect trip.

Leave a Reply

